My Lonely Planet Problem

IMG_1366.JPG
A very small portion of my problem.

I don’t know why, but every time I decide I want to travel somewhere new I buy the Lonely Planet guide. I just can’t help myself!

I’ve got an even sicker problem where sometimes after I’ve been somewhere I get the Lonely Planet guide just for a obscene thrill of reading about the places I’ve already been.

Does anyone else have this problem?

And they don’t just sit on a shelf and collect dust either. The only problem is that as I collect I steadily have less and less money for the actual travelling. And less and less time to get there. I bought the Japan guide 12 months ago and there is absolutely no way I’ll make it before the next edition is published.

I’ve started to believe that I’m travelling in my head, reading these on the dark cold New Zealand winter nights and imagining I’m already there. Oh dear.

What’s your travel illness? Too much backpacking gear which you’ve never used? 100,000 packing cubes?

One thought on “My Lonely Planet Problem

Leave a Reply

